And the winner is…

When it comes to the winning film, Time to Go by Grzegorz Molda, the international jury (Duncan Hendy, Lydia Papadimitria, Petra Hanáková, Maciej Gil, and Kaoru Furuko) above all appreciated the way it depicts the moral dilemmas of main characters. The head of the jury – Duncan Hendy – explained it as follows: “The author is capable of grasping the attention of the audience without being overly sentimental. He holds the audience’s attention thanks to is believability and an incredible sense for tension building while managing to fully avoid clichés.”

Student jury awarded its prize to the extraordinarily animated German film Ugly the Cat, directed, written and animated by Nikita Diakura. “Ugly is a fascinating synthesis of animation technique, narration, and thematic focus. Hypnotic, visually intoxicating and likeable at the same time,” the head of the jury Jakub Hložek (Masaryk University) commented their choice.

Prize of Petr Hvižď connected with the era of the festival at the turn of the 80s and 90s was awarded to a young Czech writer and director Jan-Karel Pavlík for his film Cahuenga. The audience award went to Buzz from American director Mitch Magee and the jury also awarded five honourable mentions – to Anna Sarukhanova from Georgia for her script of Till the End of the Day, to Spanish director and writer Ángel Jaquem for his artistic workmanship in Blind Letters, Finish director Teem Nikki for the best comedy for The Log, to Balász Dudás from Hungary for direction, and Kristina Kean Shtubert for best artistic synergy.

Other news